A new day, a new thing

My goal to learn something new every day

Day 48: Eggs over easy

Image courtesy of mccun934 on Flickr

Image courtesy of mccun934 on Flickr

I got a question from a student today about a term that I’ve heard countless times before, but never actually known what it’s meant. I’ve probably heard it in movies or on TV, and always imagined that it was just an Americanism. I was sitting at a desk at work, next to my American colleague when the student asked the question, and passed it on to my colleague. To my surprise, his response mirrored mine. He too had heard the phrase, but didn’t know what it meant. Fortunately, as I had a computer right in front of me, I was able to turn to Google.

The phrase the student had seen was eggs over easy. It’s one of those phrases that there just isn’t enough (for me at least) to figure out the meaning. I knew that it was a method for cooking eggs, but had I been working as a breakfast chef in a kitchen, I’m sure the eggs would have been returned untouched. My search on Google revealed a fairly basic definition. Eggs over easy are when eggs are fried on both sides just enough so that the top of the yolk is hard but the inside remains soft and runny.

Of course this also brought up plenty of other fried egg related vocabulary. Building on the over easy method, you can also have eggs over medium and over hard, which just refers to the softness of the yolk. Just like eggs over easy, eggs cooked over medium or hard are also cooked on both sides, but with over medium eggs, the yolk is hard, but almost runny in the centre. When eggs are cooked over hard, the yolk is cooked through. “Ah, it’s just like steak!” my student exclaimed when I explained this to him. Then there’s Sunny side up, which just means eggs that are cooked on one side, leaving the yolk exposed and soft.

Finally, I came across eggs in the basket. This is when you take a piece of bread and cut out a hole in the middle. You then fry the holey bread in a frying pan on both sides. Once the bread is golden brown, you crack an egg and put it in the hole and let it fry. Click on the link at the beginning of this paragraph for more detailed instructions.

I know what I’m having for breakfast tomorrow. And the next time a student asks me about eggs over easy, I’ll be able to give them an explanation without the help of Google.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 17, 2015 by in Food and tagged , , , , , , .

Calendar

February 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

